On Tour

I’ve been out and about lately, giving a few talks and writing some guest blog posts.

For the ACE/BBC initiative The Space, I wrote an article about “Digital Arts and the Imagination“. It includes links to some of my favourite digital content. In case you would prefer to read it in Scotland, it’s also featured on the AmbITion website.

For the AMA Digital Day, I gave a talk about whether or not arts organisations should get into connected TV (short answer – probably not) and offering some tips on how to make good video content. Here are my slides:


(I’m a bit in love with the Edward Burra film that I mention both in these slides and in the article for The Space. It’s very good.) I also wrote an accompanying blog post for AMA, that was republished on the Guardian Culture Pros site, originally with a slightly misleading title and then a fairly boring one. But, er, there you go.

I also outlined the beginning of some thoughts about smart labels in museums for the CIKTN blog. I’d like to explore this further, and make some relatable labels for objects.

And I did a talk about Twitter crisis management and being a normal human being on the Internet, that is based on some previous posts I’ve written here.

PLUS at least two Culture Hack talks. But you can read all about that on the Culture Hack website. November’s been a busy time for Culture Hack, including a the kick-off event for Culture Hack East in Cambridge, Culture Hack North in Leeds and a taster of Culture Hack in Atlanta, GA, at MCN. We’re working on the 2012 programme now; standby for exciting announcements.

I also programmed the talks strand for Culture Hack North, and was lucky enough to have a group of brilliant and inspiring speakers, which deserves its own write up. In the meantime, there’s a round-up here, and Natasha Carolan, Matt Edgar and Greg Povey have blogged their talks.

And in case you’re not already fed up of me, I’m talking about things in public once more this year – in conversation with Sally O’Reilly about Controlling the Production of Meaning, at One Thoresby Street in Nottingham. I think I’ll be talking about working on Big Brother. Sally will be talking about sit coms.

 

Leave a Reply

